Welcome Forums Ancient History Forum Kingdoms Before the Greater Mauryan Empire in Magadha

  • Kingdoms Before the Greater Mauryan Empire in Magadha

    Posted by Aravind Subramanian S on 10 December 2022 at 11:38 PM

    There were 3 important dynasties evolved from Janapadas to Mahajanapadas after the harrapan civilizations post aryan migration in Magadha.

    – Magadha was the important power centre for the Mahajanapadas.

    They were as follows

    Haryanka Dynasty (560 – 413 BC):

    – Bimbisara (544 – 492 BC)

    – Ajatashatru (Killed his father to ascend the throne , First Buddhist Council was held under his patronage) (492 – 460 BC)

    – Udayin/Udayabhadra (460 – 444 BC)

    Shishunga Dynasty (413 – 345 BC):
    – Shinshunga (Defeated Udayin to create his own dynasty)

    – Kalashoka (Second Buddhist council was held under his patronage)

    Nanda Dynasty (345 – 321 BC):

    – Mahapadma Nanda (Born to Kshatriya and a Shudra Woman , Known as the second Parashurama as he Vanquished lot of Dynasties like Ikshavakhu , Kuru , Yadu , Shishunga and was a powerful king ruled over the magadha)

    – Dhana Nanda (During his time battle of Jhelum (Hydapses) occured , Defeated by Chandragupta maurya and chankaya (kautilya , former prime minister of Nanda Kingdom).

    Abhay Harsh replied 3 months, 3 weeks ago 2 Members · 1 Reply
  • 1 Reply
  • Abhay Harsh

    12 December 2022 at 7:53 AM

    1st and 2nd Buddhist council held in this era

Easy & Free

Become A Mentor!

If you want to post content, upload media, create groups, etc., on the platform, you need to become a “mentor”.  Just fill this form and submit it!