Kosi River

  • The Kosi River consists of seven streams, namely, Sun Kosi, Tamba Kosi, Talkha, Doodh Kosi, Botia Kosi, Arun and Tamber.
    • Thus, it is popularly known as Saptkaushiki or Sapta Kosi.
  • It is a river in Nepal and northern India.
  • Seven rivers mingle with each other to form three streams named the Tumar, Arun and Sun Kosi.
  • Then all three streams unite at Triveni north of the Mahabharat Range to form the Kosi.
  • The Kosi joins Ganga in the Katihar district of Bihar.
  • Kosa is also known as “the sorrow of Bihar” as this causes the flood in the region.

Related Articles

Ganga River

Ganga River originates as Bhagirathi from the Gangotri glacier, Uttarakhand, India.

Alaknanda joins it at Devaprayag.

Pindar River joins it at Karan Prayag and Mandakini or Kali Ganga at Rudra Prayag.

The combined waters of the Bhagirathi and the Alaknanda flow in the name of the Ganga, below Devprayag.


Africa is the second largest and second most populous continent on Earth. It consists of 50 countries and people are called Africans. Geography of Africa It is bounded by the Mediterranean…

Narmada River

Narmada River is the largest of all the west-flowing rivers of Peninsular India.

It rises from the Maikala range near the Amarkantak plateau in the Shahdol district of Madhya Pradesh.

It flows through a rift valley between the Vindhyan Range on the north and the Satpura Range on the south.

Vaigai River

Vaigai River is the longest stream south of the Cauvery Delta.

It entirely lies in the state of Tamil Nadu.

It originates in Varusanadu Hills, the Periyar Plateau of the Western Ghats range.