United Nations General Assembly

  • United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) is One of the six principal organs of the United Nations.
  • All 193 member states of the United Nations are members of the General Assembly, each of which has one vote.
  • UNGA is the only one in which all member nations have equal representation.
  • Further, the UNGA may grant observer status to an international organization, entity or non-member state, which entitles the entity to participate in the work of the UN General Assembly, though with limitations.

Powers of the United Nations General Assembly

  • General Assembly appoints a Secretary General of the UN based on the recommendations given by Security Council.
  • It elects
    • Non-Permanent members of the Security Council and
    • Members of the Social and Economic Council.
  • Along with Security Council, General Assembly elects Judges to the International Court of Justice.
  • It makes recommendations on any matters within the scope of the UN, except matters of peace and security that are under consideration by the Security Council.

Voting in the General Assembly

  • Decision on important questions such as those on peace and security, UN budget, admission, suspension and expulsion of members to various organs of the UN requires a special majority.
  • Other questions are decided by a straightforward majority.
  • Each member country has one vote.
  • Apart from the approval of budgetary matters, Assembly resolutions are not binding on the members.
    • According to the “Uniting for Peace resolution of November 1950,” the Assembly may also take action if the Security Council fails to act, owing to the negative vote of a permanent member.
  • The one-state, one-vote power structure potentially allows states comprising just five per cent of the world population to pass a resolution by a two-thirds vote.

Related Articles

United Nations

The United Nations is the world’s largest international organization founded in 1945 after World War II.

Its charter was signed in San Francisco on June 26, 1945, and came into existence on October 24, 1945, after 51 countries has signed the charter.

Its predecessor, the League of Nations, created by the Treaty of Versailles in 1919 was disbanded in 1946.


Europe is the second smallest continent on Earth. Only Oceania has less landmass. It is located entirely in the Northern Hemisphere and mostly in the Eastern Hemisphere. It includes 44 countries and the…


Antarctica is the Coldest and the Fifth largest continent on Earth. Its name means “opposite to the Arctic” (the Arctic is the region around the North Pole). Its landmass is almost wholly…